Mercy Health receives National Standards accreditation

​Executive Director Health Services Dr
Linda Mellors addressing staff at Werribee
Mercy Hospital

Mercy Health has met all requirements as part of the National Safety and Quality Health Service Standards (NSQHSS)!!! 

The health provider was today informed by NSQHSS surveyors that Mercy Hospital for Women, Werribee Mercy Hospital, Mercy Palliative Care and Mercy Mental Health had met all 209 criteria within the 10 Standards. Mercy Mental Health also met additional 68 mental health standards.

Mercy Health Chief Executive Officer Adjunct Professor Stephen Cornelissen said the result is a testament to staff who go above and beyond for patients every day, whether it is hospital services, women's and newborn services or mental health care.

Adj Prof Cornelissen said the announcement confirmed Mercy Health as a leading provider of healthcare in Victoria, delivering safe and effective care, which has been independently assessed and given a tick of approval.  

"Mercy Health is extremely proud of our staff and the services we provide," Adj Prof Cornelissen said. "Our patients should draw comfort from the fact that our services have met all standards. We thank them for continuing to trust us with their health and the health of their loved ones."

Adj Prof Cornelissen said Mercy Health was particularly proud of the achievement given the financial limitations imposed on Werribee Mercy Hospital.

"At present only 41 per cent of the Wyndham community can access services at Werribee Mercy Hospital, leaving many to travel at least 37km to essential health services, such as a critical care unit," he said.   

Lead Surveyor John Wigan said Mercy Health should be very proud of itself for the wonderful health service it provides.

The Standards are:

1.     Governance for Safety and Quality in Health Service Organisations. 

2.     Partnering with Consumers.

3.     Preventing and Controlling Healthcare Associated Infections. 

4.     Medication Safety. 

5.     Patient Identification and Procedure Matching.

6.     Clinical Handover. 

7.     Blood and Blood Products.  

8.     Preventing and Managing Pressure Injuries.  

9.     Recognising and Responding to Clinical Deterioration in Acute Health Care. 

10.   Preventing Falls and Harm from Falls.


The National Safety and Quality Health Service Standards were developed by the Australian Commission on Safety and Quality in Health Care to drive the implementation of systems and improve care. The 10 Standards provide a nationally consistent statement about the level of care consumers can expect from health service organisations.

For more information go to or

Education and Training >

We provide high-quality professional development and training opportunities for health care, home and community care and residential aged care workers. Read More.

Research >

Our clinical research projects aim to improve health outcomes for the communities we serve. Read More.

Contact Us >

Contact us or provide feedback about our health services, home and community care and residential aged care. Read More.

News and Events >

Find out about our latest news, events and much more. Read More.